Skip to content

Opperation relax – a recap

May 15, 2011

This weekend DP and I had one goal only – to relax. With things going on (or not, in some cases) with our jobs, and us never getting to see each other, we decided to spend a WHOLE day and night together. Like, an un-interrupted 24 hours. GLORIOUS.

I even got to get in a workout (The shred) before I left school on Friday, so I felt better about the indulging I was going to do. I got home, we packed, and off we went!

We drove the hour or so to Hood River, OR. We found our hotel right away, and checked in. We went up to our room (we got a queen room with a “courtyard” view) and dropped off our bag before heading out around town.

DP was a little upset that places were closed already, it was only 6. Oh well, we had fun walking up and down the main street. (Sorry, we forgot the camera guys.) Think 6 blocks of 2 or 3 story buildings on the side of a mountain. Beautiful!

At the suggestion of Lisa we walked back to Quenett Winery’s tasting room. If you look at the picture above, the winery is on the left, about half a block down. Literally steps from our hotel! Woohoo! We tasted 6 wines each, and agreed we loved the Viognier(delicious white) and Barbera(very rich red). I also loved the Cab Sauv, but DP vetoed that one as we have about 10 at home already. What can I say, this wino knows what she likes!

We hit up Horsefeather’s for dinner. They also brew beer under the name Big Horse Brew Pub. I had a Scotch Ale and a Stout. Went perfectly with the wings, clam chowder and flank steak salad I had. DP had wanted the Cajun Mac n Cheese, but the kitchen was out of pasta. BOO. So he went with the argentine flank steak. I will say, after not drinking for almost 2 weeks (or 3?) the wine and beer got to me hard. And when I drink, I want sweets. So we walked back to hotel after a very nice chat with a couple from Charleston, SC, and stopped at a pizza place/bakery. At dinner I was able to make more healthy choices and keep my head about me, but dessert went out the window. I had a brownie tart, and DP had a turtle brownie. Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious, but we probably could have split one and called it good. We also grabbed some champagne on the way back to the room, and took everything upstairs to read and relax. Since alcohol + me = sleepiness, I think I was out by 11.

I woke up right at 7 the next morning. Damn body clock. So up I got up, cleaned up, and went down to breakfast. Our hotel offered $10 vouchers per night, and we took advantage of it. DP got the crab cake eggs Benedict, and I had my head back on, so I stuck with 2 sides, eggs and pancakes. There was no meal that looked good and healthy (they all looked HUGE), so I just made my own! Yay me!

We then grabbed our books and boarded the Mt. Hood Railroad! They had a special event that day, an old western robbery! I was nervous about it (I don’t like when people force me to participate) but it turned out to be pretty low-key. About halfway up the mountain, they train stopped, and we heard guns being shot. then the train started going again, and we had 2 “Robbers” come in to our car. They came around, made jokes, and collected the fake money we had been given. One of them kept texting, and asking for the women’s numbers. 🙂 They were more comedians than anything else, and the 8 year old that kept stealing their (unloaded) guns made it even funnier. I’m not sure it was worth the extra $6 but hey, it made both of us laugh. The ride itself was beautiful.This is from their website;

REALLY made me mad that we forgot the camera, but oh well. I guess that means we will just have to go back. We stopped in Parkdale for an hour, grabbed some lunch, then rode back. I read the whole way back, and it was amazing. I don’t think I have read for more than 15 minutes total in the last month, so this was a real treat.

After getting back, we jumped in the car and headed for home. It was still nice and relaxed though. We picked up the dogs, got home, and made dinner together with the help of our Quenett wine 🙂 Yum!

Sunday would have been awesome if it weren’t for me feeling crummy. Nothing specific (at least not without TMI status) but just overall blah. I did however, manage to get my plan done for this week:


Thanks to Beth for the idea, and to DP for letting me plan our grocery shopping this week! We don’t eat together except for Friday, so I’m on my own every other day.Hows it look? My goals/restrictions for this week are the same – no drinking during the week, and no dessert. I’m staying solid on that, especially given my track record this weekend.

I am pretty annoyed that Weight Watchers’ website is on the blink, so I can’t put in my points+ and see the damage from this weekend. I think I’m ok, but I need to be careful tomorrow, for sure. (My week re-starts on Tuesday) Lets hope that things get worked out before then!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 8:20 pm

    That’s so awesome! Glad you guys had a good time in HR. We stayed at that hotel about a month ago. It was cute and quaint but our room was TINY.

    Quenett is my favorite, Cathedral Ridge a close second. Naked Winery is good if your only goal is to get drunk because their tastings include like 25 different wines. But I’m not a huge fan of most of their wines, so I don’t go there often.

    The railroad thing sounds cool! We should check that out next time!

    • May 15, 2011 8:28 pm

      It was exactly what we needed! Our room was tiny too, but like you said, it served it’s purpose, AND we had an excuse to ride the elevator! 🙂
      I would love to go back and try a few more wineries, but I think it will have to be spread-out. DP doesn’t like the tasting quite as much as I do. Thanks for the recommendations though! Have you ever been to Maryhill? Their dining train passed us and i was very jealous. I think they had over a dozen cases of wine on their for 1 car load of people.

  2. May 16, 2011 11:20 am

    That sounds like such a fun weekend!
    Now next time you do this … bring your darn camera! 😉

    • May 16, 2011 12:19 pm

      I know, right? I was bummed, but it was also nice to just experience everything for a bit, instead of from behind a camera.

  3. May 16, 2011 5:39 pm

    I second the recommendation for Cathedral Ridge — that was my favorite one in Hood River and it’s in such a pretty location. For Thanksgiving I opened a bottle of their Halbtrocken (I’m sure I’m not spelling that correctly) which is kind of like a red zinfandel. Very yum! Naked Winery is fun if just for their logos, etc., but I agree, overall not all that impressive of wines.

    I am taking my mom to do the Mt. Hood brunch train on Sunday — I’ll try to get some pictures for you!

Leave a Reply

