Skip to content

Cinco do Mayo!

May 8, 2011

Today was the Cinco de Mayo 10k. I set a new 10k PR!

1:08:58

Topher showed 1:08:20 as my moving time, which I’m ok with.

This was the strangest race I have done yet. Mostly because of my attitude. Let me backtrack a bit.

I got to play photog at DP’s Jitsu tournament yesterday! I went straight from Nanny-ing to watch him roll. I got there JUST in time!!

2nd place baby!

He explained things to me, but all I know is that when your opponent taps, you win. His first fight came in to a draw – it was with the guy on the right. His second fight he lost to a “paper cutter” choke. The  he and his opponent from the first fight decided to roll again to decide 2nd and 3rd. The rolls are 5 minutes long, and they had just announced “30 seconds left” when DP finally got the space he needed to roll in to an arm bar. Tap tap tap! Yay! He wins!!

DP with his 2nd place medal, and then with his whole gym. One of his mates won 1st in his division!! He actually knocked someone out because the guy didn’t tap. (Testosterone was at an ALL TIME high in that gym)

It was a great showing from DP’s gym, a lot of medals, and a TON of heart. Great work everyone!!

However, in all the excitement, I failed to remember to fuel. I had breakfast,(7:30) then a Larabar around noon. We went out to eat after the tourney, and I got a spinach salad. I was still hungry afterwords, but decided to ignore it. When I got home, I had some pistachios, and we got a pizza from Papa Murphey’s.

I think I just didn’t fuel enough in the beginning part of the day. I ate 2 slices of pizza (for 18 points+, sigh)

ANYWHO.

Got to the start this morning in the rain (thankfully it stopped right after the horn sounded) and shed the outer layer of clothes to hand them to DP. (who was there on 3 hours of sleep) I was fighting thoughts like “I don’t want to be here, this is stupid, I’m not gonna PR today….” etc, etc, etc. Whine, Bitch, Moan. Ugh.

So by the time .75 showed on Topher, I was DONE. I even thought about leaving, finding DP and going home. I had a goal of 11:00 minute/miles and I felt like my legs were too heavy and my lungs too tight. Nothing felt comfortable. Plus I forgot to tie my capri pants up, so I had to stop and tie them. Whoops!! Don’t worry, I WAS wearing underwear. I have not yet joined the commando cult.

After I saw the 1 mile though, I got my head in to the game and kept on. Stupid brain. It does so much, but can be so negative. (I hate to blame someone, but DP was a GROUCH this AM, and I think that affected my mood too. Who can blame him with a late night call in to work and three hours sleep though?)

So after I pulled my head out of my ass, I focused on getting the first 5k done. The first water station was AMAZING. They had cliff shots and gatorade! Best water stop EVER! That really helped me get some calories in and some energy to my muscles. I won’t say I felt great, but better. I was smiling again. 🙂

The part I dislike of this race route is the industrial part, which just so happens to be around Mile 4. I kept going, and told myself I could walk once I hit 45:00. I LOVE walk breaks! After the 2nd and last water stop (More gatorade!) I was able to run the whole way back! Woot!

So I actually hit my goal! 11 minute miles!! I went out too fast, which may explain why my legs felt heavy. I was DONE at the end, but still kicked it in to high gear about a tenth of a mile out. Unfortunately, DP couldn’t get a good finish line picture because the 5k-ers were crowding the finish. Oh well!

Happy face! I had JUST crossed the finish line. So yay, stupid mental demons defeated (or at least pushed back down for a while) DP napping upstairs and a new 10k PR to try to beat in two weeks! All in all, life is good!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 8:53 am

    Have you tried the Papa Murphy’s deLite pizza? That’ usually what we get and the calories are about half of the regular pizzas. And the deLite is just as good I think!

    • May 9, 2011 1:30 pm

      I have, but the hubby likes the regular crust. At least I turned down the leftovers…..so far…..;)

  2. May 9, 2011 9:54 am

    Congratulations!! PRs feel so amazing … and I bet even more -so considering you felt done after the first .75. Nice job, speedy pants!

  3. May 9, 2011 10:08 am

    Woohoo! Great PR!!!!!!!

  4. May 9, 2011 12:36 pm

    congrats!! That is so awesome. I always say that if you are not completely done at the end then you didn’t push hard enough. 🙂 So, mission accomplished!

    (I see that you were able to get the splits picture in there too – hopefully I helped!)

    • May 9, 2011 1:27 pm

      I feel the same way. If I still have energy, I didn’t go hard enough. And yes, thank you for the help on the Paint! It worked well!!

Leave a Reply

