Skip to content

Progress

May 3, 2011

Last night’s run was great! It wasn’t particularly fast, but I did manage 5 intervals at 6 mph for half a mile each. It made me smile. I almost didn’t do the last interval, but I powered through it! Yay me!

A little more update on my goals –

I am finding the not drinking alcohol thing to be a problem. Not the abstaining, but the “You can have whatever you want besides alcohol” mentality. I have not had any wine or beer since Friday, but I find myself WAY over-indulging in other areas. I am feeling good enough about the no-alcohol thing for the rest of the week, so I am going to add desserts to the mantra, starting tomorrow. (No, this is not permission to binge the rest of the day. I am actually kind of sick to my stomach, so I think the rest of the day will be a balancing act already…..) New saying:

“You can eat whatever you want BESIDES alcohol or desserts.”

 

I kind of scared myself yesterday and today. I told myself I could eat whatever I wanted, so I did. The flood gates opened. I have eaten my way through two different staff rooms. It doesn’t  help that this is Teacher Appreciation Week. There are treats EVERYWHERE! Holy crap. Cheesecake, cream puffs, cookies, red velvet cake, meatloaf(????) bagels, muffins, tarts….on and on and on. The bagels I’m not too worried about, but the treats, oh the treats. I find myself LOOKING for reasons to go in to the staff room, just to see what else the treat gremlins had dropped off.

So now, I can eat whatever I want besides alcohol and desserts. The alcohol I am only going to honor until after my race, then start adding it back in, but small, controlled quantities.

I am going to start adding more things to the “anything but……” part. After I tackle the desserts will be candy.

I know this may seem like a long, roundabout way of cutting out food, but it seems to be working so far (for alcohol at least) If I find myself bingeing like I would when I cut everything out at once, I will stop, re-assess and try a new track. Lets hope this helps my running, energy and swollen body.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 2:45 pm

    I struggle with this one too! There’s nothing better than a glass of really nice red wine with a big juicy steak! But when you’re watching your calories or trying to lose weight it’s hard to justify drinking those calories.

    I’m sorry you are struggling right now!

    • May 3, 2011 3:31 pm

      I know! Thanks Lisa. It’s wierd, but I’m in a very methodical mindset right now. I don’t feel like I’m floundering, more tweaking things here and there as issues arise. Odd, I’ve not really felt this before. Ever been there?

Leave a Reply

