Skip to content

April in review

May 2, 2011

I feel so much better now then at the beginning of April. I feel like I have some things figured out.

1. The scale is not my friend.

– I obsess over the scale. No matter how good of a job I’m doing, one bad number on the scale can put me in a funk for a week. ESPECIALLY when I feel like  I’m doing a good job with my eating and working out. So it’s bye-bye scale.

2. I drink too much.

– I am not an alcoholic at all. But I do feel like I drink enough to hinder my running and weight loss efforts. I am currently in a week off of any alcohol, which I am finding easier if I don’t restrict anything else. It is also really successful that way. I just tell myself I can have whatever I want besides alcohol for this week. I will try the same thing with desserts here soon.

3. I need to be better about cross training – but NOT to the point where it hinders my running.

– 60 minutes, 3 days a week on top of running is too much for me to maintain healthily (?) right now.

4. I need to maintain my fueling ALL the time, not just for running. HALT works, I just need to pay more attention to my body.

5. I need to get out of my head more and STOP obsessing about every. little. thing.

As far as my April goals – here is the rundown;

April Goals:

1. Get back down to 190. 

No idea. But after last weeks sugar binge, I’m gonna guess NOT.

2. Strength train at least once a week, preferably on a non-running day.

Got 3 out of 4, but did more like 3 strength training workouts a week. A little much…

3. Start training for the next Half, using Runner’s World’s plan.

Yuppity yup! Next Half – June 19th

4. After the in-laws leave, spend 15 minutes a night tidying up. 

I would call this a 50/50. While I did better, I still have a ways to go.

5. Be in bed by 10 each night, lights out at 10:30. Friday and Saturday lights out by midnight.

Again, about 50/50. I could definitely tell a difference though. And for a few days afterwords.

May Goals

1. PR in 10k at one of 2 races this month (Under 1:15 is a PR – but I would like to get under 1:10)

2. Strength train 2 days a week (only 2)

3. Continue training for the next Half, cross training once or twice a week.

4. Continue to tidy up for 15 minutes a night.

5. Get in bed by 10 on weekdays, lights out at 10:30. Wake up at 6 am EVERY DAY. No more sleeping as late as possible.

6. Menu plan for each week. Be optimistic, but not stupid. Only plan what I have time for.

7. Continue to use the “eff off” approach. (I have been telling my negative side to “eff off” a lot lately. If I get a thought that isn’t helpful or a craving I know I shouldn’t give in to, I tell that thought to “eff off” in not so PC terms. It’s silly, but it’s working so far.)

I have also come up with some incentives based on clothes size as I reach them, but I think that’s a different post.

Hooray goals!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 4:41 pm

    I loooooooove goal setting! It helps me stay on track with so many things in life. Not just the running/weight stuff. I think you found your soul sistah of goal making here in Vancouver! lol

    • May 2, 2011 6:12 pm

      ME too! Me too!!! As long as I don’t have so many it gets overwhelming, I’m great!

Trackbacks

  1. GORGEOUS day! « My journey to be called a runner

Leave a Reply

