Skip to content

Amazing day!

April 24, 2011

10 miles, almost 4 hours. Normally those numbers would make me want to cry, but not when it was done as a hike! My garmin tells me we climbed 13000 ft, and descended 12900. I call BS. We gained about 1100 ft in elevation over 5 miles, out and back. Enough talk – time for pictures!!

All smiles!

My beloved DP getting HIS picture taken for once!

What a great, sunny day!

Bunny ears FAIL! I was too quick with the shutter! 🙂

The view from the beginning

Part of the trail

"Gorge"ous falls

These are some of the beautiful views we got to see! We started at Eagle Creek Trail head, and went in 5 miles from there. We saw some backpackers turning in for the night on our way back, about 4 miles from the trailhead. They are MUCH braver than me! I love hiking, but it wil take a while for me to feel comfortable sleeping in the woods, especially near a heavily populated trail like this one!

You could literally look straight down to the bottom of the creek!

The falls I went off-trail to get a good picture off. I got glared at for that....

LOVED all the bridges 🙂

All in all, it was a FABULOUS hike. I think we took something like 85 pictures. I have 3 more I want to share, because they are just beautiful!

Pretty yellow flowers that were everywhere up there!

I love the colors and lighting in this picture. 🙂

Another pretty flower!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. CilleyGirl permalink
    April 24, 2011 9:29 pm

    Great pictures! No camping for you then? I finally got to go camping last summer for the first time in a long time and I’m hoping to go again this summer. Dirty yet fun!

    • April 24, 2011 10:00 pm

      I think I would love camping, just not on this trail, and more than 4 miles from the th. I am more of a top-of-the-mountain person, I like to be able to see what is going on around me.

  2. April 25, 2011 8:55 am

    I wouldn’t camp either. I wouldn’t be able to sleep because I don’t know that I’d feel super safe? And then there is the issue of wanting a clean, private bathroom to freshen up in.

    BUT the hike looks fabulous. Gorgeous pictures!! I just love hiking. I like not being in a hurry and just exploring, taking in the sounds and smells and sights. Great weekend!

Leave a Reply

