Skip to content

“Are you losing weight?”

April 20, 2011

I was asked the above question today.

Normally, that would make me happy. But this time, I just smiled and nodded. I have been here SO many times before, lost about 5 lbs, only to have it all come right back. So instead of focusing on the weight loss, I am trying to focus on my running. So yes, I am losing weight, but more importantly, I AM BECOMING A RUNNER.

Speaking of which;

I beat the clock!!

I TOTALLY set a new Pr for 5k last night.

32:45!!!!

That means I was running FASTER than I have ever run before! I am SO getting there, I can feel it!!

Now, today, after reading Aron‘s Boston Report, I want to go SO BAD. I want to qualify. I want to run. I want to leave my iPod off and just cruise, listening to the sounds, taking in the sights. I want my friends to be as proud of me as I am of Aron, and Mel, and everyone else who ran the marathon on Monday. I WILL be a Boston finisher, even if it takes until I am 80+ just so I can qualify.

I do have a question though. For you runners – do you run straight through, never taking a walking break? Because from what I’m starting to realize, almost everyone takes walking breaks at some point or another. I am still doing so because I get winded a bit. Is this normal? I know that there is this head game going on of “just walk, you know you want to, comeon, you will feel SO much better”. Do I ignore that stupid little voice? Or do I give in and walk? What about you? What do YOU do when that voice tells you to slow down and walk? (Or sit down, or get off the bike and walk, or get out of the pool 20 minutes early and sit in the hot tub)??

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 1:55 pm

    WAY TO GO! PR’s are the best!

  2. April 20, 2011 1:57 pm

    Thank you! I love that feeling!!

  3. April 20, 2011 2:21 pm

    I used to not take walk breaks. Sometimes I forget to do so. Especially when I get lost in my head while running. However, taking breaks has made me faster. I started out running in the 13s. When I’m alone or with my husband I currently run my slower runs between 10:00-10:20. My fastest lately has been an 8:30 1 mile run. It really doesn’t matter if you walk or not…as long as you’re getting the results you want. For me, if I need a break I need a break. I have other days where I can run 14 miles without stopping (except to pee). lol

    • April 20, 2011 7:01 pm

      I think you have a point. As long as I’m getting a bit faster overall, what does it matter? Eventually I would like to be able to run without stopping, but for now, I’m feeling good!

  4. April 20, 2011 4:58 pm

    For long runs, I do galloway style (run 2; walk 1). The idea with that is to walk *before* you’re exhausted, so you can keep the pace up better. My long runs are with Foot Traffic U so I’ve got people yelling when to switch, but my husband has an ap on his iphone that chimes for the intervals too. And even with what feels like a million walk breaks I still keep an 11-12 min pace. Eventually, I wanna be faster, but right now the focus is on distance, and those walk breaks help me get those distances.

    • April 20, 2011 6:52 pm

      I have wondered if the Galloway thing would be a good idea. Do you like foot traffic u?

      • April 21, 2011 12:15 pm

        I do! I don’t love everything about it but overall I’d totally recommend it. At the very least, it helps force you to get your long runs in. You can email me if you’ve ever got questions about it.

  5. April 21, 2011 2:07 pm

    I don’t plan walk breaks – like with the Galloway thing. I TRY to just run it. I do have to pause running and walk here and there. Sometimes even if it is just 30 seconds of walking, that little gap lets me get my head together, a short rest on my legs and then I feel fresh when I start up again. Ultimately I’d love to just run and not have to walk. Some day! I will just keep trying!

    • April 21, 2011 8:46 pm

      I am in the same place. I just walk when I feel like I need too. I like the Galloway method too though – saving a bit for later and all. It makes sense, but still feels a little like giving up to me.

Leave a Reply

