Skip to content

An epiphany

April 17, 2011

THE GYM = Sanity.

Last time I posted a blog, it was all about the negative. Guess what? I did NOT work out that day. Coincidence? I think not.

Instead of heading to DP’s bar, I should have pointed the car towards the gym. I really do think a good sweat helps you clear away some of the rubble from a crappy day/week.  Lesson learned! Maybe not for good, but hey, it’s learned for the next….um, week? Maybe?

Here’s how the rest of my week broke down;

Thursday: Running on the gym treadmill – I kept a nice, steady pace and was able to do 4 miles. Woohoo!

Friday: Was almost derailed when DP asked that I miss my workout to stay home and make dinner with him. Lovely. I had not seen him all week, so I agreed. But then, I realized that he goes to work at 8:30. Huzzah! The gym is open till 10! I made it to the elliptical and made that thing my you-know-what. (Also known as hit the down arrow WAY too many times) Resistance level 5 is almost as good as 13, right???

Saturday: Busy busy busy! Nanny-ing in the morning, then directly to a high school to help with an elementary honor choir till 5. Being the smart cookie that I am, I took my (uncharged) garmin and some running clothes with me. 4 miles, one BIG ASS hill and lots of cursing at me as cars cruised around me, and I was done. There were NO shoulders, and the hill that went straight up from the side of the road did nothing to help me. Oh well. Still alive!

Today: 10k PR! I had 6-7 miles on the schedule for today, and decided to see how much difference 1 year makes. I did a 5k in 34 min, and a 10k in 1 hour, 10 minutes! (ok, so 1:10:59) I REALLY wanted that nice, even number of 1:10, so I pushed HARD. 1 second away! Hell to the ya!

As far as the eating side of this week, I think it will help if I make a list of the places I went wrong…

Mon/tues – Not bad, but FAST meals, or meals in the car. Not ideal, but at least healthy

Wednesday – Maple bar (was still hungry, not enough breakfast) Chocolate bites, Alcoholic drinks at the bar, too much sushi, red velvet cupcake

Thursday – Burgerville – only 690 calories, but fries….Oh the rosemary fries……::drool::

Friday – Bagels, scone, crackers in the staff room. Decided not to even go in to the other staff rooms (I knew there was pie in there) 2 reeses miniatures, Regular (white death) pasta with dinner (Next time I do the shopping)

Saturday – Stayed away from cookies ALL day b/c I knew I wanted froyo that night. Had 2 beers with dinner, but chose the veggie calzone instead of a burger/fry combo. What veggies? It was practically ALL dough. Oh well. Froyo – TONS of it. And toppings.  Froyo shop opened within running distance…this could be a problem.

Today – traditional sunday breakfast – eggs, bacon, pancakes, coffee deliciousness.

There are only a few things on this list I am ashamed of. Mostly the things on Wednesday. Should I be more worried? Are all these indulgences adding up? I wonder if there should just be ONE day a week where I drink beer, eat froyo, scones, bagels and such. But then I wonder if I would revolt against that and go on a binge? Gah. Who knows. I will just keep tracking things as best I can and try to keep my calories where they need to be.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 9:14 pm

    You beat my 10K race PR! Yippee!!

    And now that I’ve run in Portland twice, you get even MORE kudos from me on those hills you ran. Shamrock scared me away from hills in races for a while I think! 😉

    • April 18, 2011 11:36 am

      So, we totally need to run together next time you’re up here. And maybe BB can give me some tips on fixing my baby!

  2. April 18, 2011 11:38 am

    I might be up there this weekend actually. I’ll keep you posted! I’m tapering for Eugene now, but still plan on 8 or 9 miles… hopefully WITHOUT crazy wind like last time I ran up there!

Leave a Reply

