Skip to content

The doughnut incident

March 31, 2011

First things first:

Wednesday’s run: 5 miles, 4.65 run in 52 minutes @ 11:10/mile

I felt pretty bad on the way out, then hit the porta potty at the halfway and felt better. Of course the way back was a big hill, so no matter how good I felt, I had to slow down to a walk. I did walk for less than normal though! Hooray for small improvements!

Now, on to explain the title!

I teach elementary school. More specifically, Music. Our kiddos had a performance Tuesday night. (Remember, busy week) They did a great job, and I like to reward my students after their performances. So I swung through Krispy Krack (ahem kreme, sorry) on the way to school this morning. I picked up enough for the kids, and figured the rest would go to whomever wanted it.

Small victory: I did NOT eat one. Score!

Well, after giving them out to the students, I did have a few left over. Off to the staffroom they go! On the way, I handed one to someone who’s response was “I’ve been exercising lately, so I can eat one of these now!”

Uh-huh……

I almost took it out of her hand. Only to save her from herself. See, I’ve been there. You think: “I’m walking every evening! I can have a treat!” (Or two, or three). Remember this? Well, I do. The times article from that post weighs heavily on me most of the time now. Exercise is not the be all, end all of weight loss.

Now, to be fair, I don’t know if she is trying to lose weight. I can only assumse that she is. And that’s me being judgemental, so I feel bad. But I still wanted to tell her not to eat the doughnut. 😦

The truth of the matter is – she will have to walk 2 miles to burn off that one, 30 second moment of doughnut-y goodness. I have been learning more and more lately what I am willing to pass by in favor of something more nutritious, and less calorie-laden.

I do have one question though – for you nutrition-y types:

I wonder about not getting in enough calories. (I know. Seriously?? Every fat girl’s claim to go off of any calorie restrictive lifestyle) Lets take yesterday. The daily plate tells me I ate about 1900 calories, total. But I ran for almost an hour, and my balance after the day was done was a whopping 823 calorie deficit for the day. (So 823 calories  BELOW my already restricted intake numbers. I am supposed to be eating around 1740 cals/day for a 2 lb a week weight loss)  Net calories for yesterday would be 948 as calculated by The daily plate. (Ate 1865, burned 917)

Is this too little? Should I be eating more*?

I have been stagnant this week so far for weight loss, but am not worried about it. I AM however worried about going in to a half marathon this weekend without the proper nutrition. So please, if you read this, let me know what you think.

*I will NOT be gorging myself on ice cream and beer, but maybe increase portion size a bit, and add in more snacks if need be.

Slight problem (DO NOT READ ON IF SQUEAMISH) I am having no. 2 issues. I experienced runner’s trot for the first time yesterday. I think it’s been b/c of reading The Boring Runner so much lately. Thanks so much Adam! :-p

So please, feel free to weigh in. If the weight loss has stalled, the calories are low, and the tummy is unhappy, what’s a runner to do? Push through or take a step back and eat some damn bread already?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Yo Sis permalink
    March 31, 2011 2:52 pm

    I would say from my tummy stuff that you can stop the #2 problems by increasing soluble fiber (yes that means bread and carbs) and water intake (apparently it creates a gel in your intestines and slows things down). As far as the maintenance stuff, I don’t trust the daily plate’s calorie numbers. They told me I need 2400 a day!! I say if you can function and run and not be exhausted all the time you’re eating enough. I still like the whole drop 100 calories an week until you start losing weight method but that’s just me.

    • March 31, 2011 2:57 pm

      I am drinking about 12 glasses of water a day, so I think I’m good there. Maybe I should add some kind of fiber in the mornings? Right now all I am eating is eggs and coffee…

      • Yo Sis permalink
        April 1, 2011 3:09 pm

        Yeah, I would. Sourdough or another good white bread, white rice, potatoes, oatmeal, soy, apples, mango, bananas all would be good to get soluble fiber.

  2. Tyson Sterne permalink
    March 31, 2011 4:42 pm

    I read your post on exercise not helping as much and and this one. When I was training for a marathon (I wasn’t trying to lose weight then) I ate whole grain pasta and didn’t really use any gauge for incoming/outgoing except how I felt. If you did a MAJOR shift in your diet, then you’re body is going to take some time to adjust and it will affect your energy levels and your digestion (unfortunately). If this is the first time you’ve ever made significant dietary adjustments, it might take longer for your body to adjust, but when you do go back and have a burger, WOAH.

    Right now, I am trying to lose weight (not because I feel I need to, but because the Army says I need to and I want a job with the Army) and I just significantly cut back on beer. Painful. =) I like beer. But that seems to have done the trick…I think the idea for me was to make “treats” an actual “treat.” Contrary to what advertising says, I don’t need to treat myself to a 500(ish) calorie Carmel Macchiato (sp?) every day!

    As far as your caloric intake, how long have you been seriously exercising? Do you feel constantly dead tired? For me, I started really exercising at basic training and it took almost a month of daily constant activity before I started to feel like I was making any progress. Outside of basic, only working 4-5 times a week, it might take a few months! Keep at it!

  3. April 3, 2011 3:48 pm

    I think fiber is the answer to all of the worlds problems. Of course, properly timed in proximity to your run, but fiber cures all!

    • April 4, 2011 3:19 pm

      I think you may have a point! I have been feeling better by adding some fiber in the morning. Lets see how this plays out……

Leave a Reply

