Skip to content

Polar Opposites

March 24, 2011

So my two run so far this week could not have been more different.

Monday: I decided to try out a run with NikeTown in PDX. I looked up Team Red Lizard, a running club here in the PAcific NW. I found that they had a joint training run with NikeTown on Mondays. There was what looked like a good crowd, as well as 3 distances to choose from. I figured it would be a good time. I mean, I have loved running with people thus far, right?? RIGHT??

WRONG

I showed up right on time, and stood in the corner. Literally. A’la Baby in”Dirty Dancing”. Only there was no Patrick Swayze to rescue me.

 I stayed there until the run coordinator came in and started explaining the route. FAST. Not wanting to be the one who help up the process, I decided to just go with the flow and figure out the route on the way. I never figured on what was about to happen.

The run started, and I decided I was going to do the middle distance, 5 miles. A nice, easy 5 miles IN THE SUNSHINE!!! HOLY COW! IO could not have been more excited and anxious about this run. YAY SUN!

I kept up for about the first mile. Then I started slowing down. I figured someone would hang back with me. At very least one of the 2 race coordinators. WRONG again. They left me. Not like, “Hey, we’re gonna run ahead, are you ok?” kind of leaving either. It was more like I stop to walk for 30 seconds and look back up and there’s NO ONE there. Literally. I don’t know Portland roads, and I don’t know the trails at all. SO there I was, on my own, feeling left behind like garbage. Can you feel it? I had to focus on putting one foot in front of the other just to keep from breaking down and sobbing. Thank goodness for the signs along the road. The lead me to the Springwater trail, which I remembered from the breif explanaition. About half a mile down the trail, the run coordinators passed me going the opposite direction. They slowed to wave, so they KNEW I was part of the training run. YEt they still kept going in the opposite direction. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a whiny baby(all the time), but come on people! If someone in your training group is struggling, HELP THEM!

So anyway, I made it back, grabbed a Lara Bar, and left. And the worst part? I had a freakin PR for 5 miles! It was the fastest pace I was able to do yet. And STILL felt like crap afterwords. Probably because the people doing 7 miles (2 more than me) lapped me on the way back to the starting point, yelling at me to “Move to the left!”. Thanks, b*!$)s.

Anyway. Out with the crap, in with the fun!

Wednesday was AWESOME! As bad as Monday’s run was, that’s how good Wednesday was. I went a bit slower, but the best part was the people. Everything from the weather (stinky, cold, windy rain) to the course was exactly opposite. And thank goodness!

I went for a What? run put on by the people gearing up for the Vancouver, USA Marathon in June. I did 4.8 miles in about 54 minutes, and felt ok on the run. (I think my “lady time” changes how much energy I have, but that’s probably TMI) The before and after was amazing though. I got hooked up with a group of about 6 others, and drank the free beer and wine with them. I think we spent more time talking and laughing afterwords than that run itself! YAY!

I DID run most of it by myself, but the trail was well marked (beforehand!) and I could see people ahead AND behind me. Thank goodness I didn’t end up giving up running after Monday’s run like I wanted to.

So that 10 miles total this week so far, with the promise of a 10 miler this weekend with FRIEND! Heather. YAY!

OH OH OH! AND I won a shirt!! Woohoo!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 2:38 pm

    So glad Wednesday was a good experience for you! As I said on DailyMile, your Monday experience is the exact reason I have not joined a running group even though I clearly do better when I run with others. I have a feeling everyone in the group will be so much faster than me….I’ll end up running alone. Which I can do on my own, in my neighborhood, and not end up totally lost. lol

    We’ll knock out 10 miles Sunday & be thrilled that we did it. Cross your fingers it doesn’t rain. I am sooooo sick of long runs in the rain. I’m ready for the sun to come out and play!

  2. March 24, 2011 2:45 pm

    I’m with Heather! They say all paces are welcome but they really aren’t. Or maybe it’s “all paces welcome, but not accommodated.” And in my running group, we’re like the Marines — never leave a man behind.

Leave a Reply

