Skip to content

Recovery run – you’re doing it wrong

March 16, 2011

How do you do a recovery run?

I did mine yesterday, recovering from the 9.5 miles on Sunday. I have seen others in the blogosphere that do their run the day after. Specifically on a Sunday after a long Saturday run. Because my ankles were still pretty sore, I just took it easy on the treadmill.

 

Don't know which one of these is the culprit, but I don't think they are working very well together right now.

 

 

4.3 miles. It took me about an hour. Not speedy, but I walked at an incline of 8 for about 1.5 miles. Honestly the walking uphill was when my ankle really starting feeling better.

Must a recovery run be a “run”? Are there specific guidelines for such an adventure?

I am just taking the stance that so far, a recovery run is something that makes my body feel better. Whether that be running, walking, elliptical or biking, as long as I feel better and it involves moving my body.

I also stretched for a good 20 minutes. I realized that I didn’t stretch at all after the run on Sunday. Whoops. Although at that point it was either a) stretch in the cab on a pickup or b) change out of my wet clothes and get out of there. I did the best I could. Meh.

Any advice for a recovery run? Or stretching after a race?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 9:40 am

    My physical therapist(s) say to NOT do a recovery run. They basically told me that our bodies need rest. Stretching is the only thing I’ve been told is 100% OK to do the day after a long run. Personally, MY body requires at least 36 hours of rest before going on another run, and I try to stick with a 4 – 6 mile distance (always) when it comes to mid week runs.

    Hope this helps!

    PS…I have your jacket! I didn’t realize it was in my car. Stop by if you need it, or I can bring it along next time we run. 🙂

    • March 16, 2011 6:57 pm

      Good to know! I didn’t even know if I could call it a recovery run, since it was more than 48 hours between runs. I was mostly worried about pushing myself too hard and not listening to my body.

  2. CilleyGirl permalink
    March 16, 2011 12:31 pm

    I do my long runs on Sunday and always take the next day off. My first run after a long run is always the shortest distance of the week, usually three to five miles depending on where I am in my training schedule. Of course, I don’t push myself as hard as I could on long runs so while I am usually a little stiff and sore at the start of the next run it’s probably not as bad as it could/should be. Yesterday’s run was really tough to pull out though, my legs were one big cramp!

    • March 16, 2011 6:58 pm

      I have always been told that if it hurts, don’t do it. i guess I need to re-learn the pain scale. I’m a wimp! :-p

  3. CilleyGirl permalink
    March 16, 2011 2:59 pm

    So, I was thinking about your ankles — not in a creepy kind of way or anything — but, do you over or under pronate? I remember when I first started running I had a lot of problems with my ankles and ended up getting over the counter inserts for my shoes that helped tremendously. Eventually I ended up in another kind of shoe altogether that had more stability (I have very flat feet) and only get a sore right ankle for a couple of days after a long distance run if I don’t have enough base mileage (if that makes sense). Have you been fitted for shoes within the past year?

    • March 16, 2011 7:00 pm

      NOt within the past year, no. Its funny you should say that, because watching the mirror as I was running on the treadmil, I noticed my left foot turns IN when I run. Go figure! Although I will say, my chiro adjusted my ankle (didn’t even know they could!) and that made it feel 100% better for a bit!

  4. March 30, 2011 9:35 am

    I always take at least a day off after a race or a really long run of a new distance. I’m still new to double digit runs, so I am completely exhausted – and famished – at the end.

    • March 30, 2011 5:46 pm

      I think I will be doing the same thing at least for now. We can’t feel bad about giving our bodies what they need.

Leave a Reply

