Skip to content

Unexpected side effects

March 15, 2011

So I did the longest run of my life (thus far) on Sunday. WOOHOO! (Still REALLY happy about it!)

But with it came some unexpected side effects, both good and bad;

Good:

1. I KNOW I can run now. It may be slow, but it’s running.

2. I feel PROUD of myself! I wore the race shirt yesterday just so people would ask me about it.

3. I want to run again, and again, and again.

4. I don’t mind running in the rain as much as I thought I would.

Bad:

1. My ankles have gone missing. My leg goes straight from Calf to Foot. Boo.

2. My cold that I thought I was over is back with a vengeance. I had a REALLY bad case of dry mouth yesterday, and I think that only exasperated the problem.

3. I am starting to wonder if I am pushing myself too far, too fast. I am NOT a patient person. When all the marathon and half-marathon training programs say that to even think about running that long of an event, you should have 1 year MIN under your belt, I just scoff. I started running a year ago. So I’m covered, right? Even if I took 6 months off? Hmmmm…..

4. I am still scared that if I take too much time off I will not get back in to it, no matter how good it feels when I’m done.

5. I am worried that pizza and wine will become a pre-race staple. :-p  It’s what I ate Saturday night, so I feel like I should repeat that for another good race day. Any thoughts? Pretty sure this is the exact OPPOSITE of what I should be putting in my body the day before a race, but what if it’s my good luck charm?? (Semi-joking)

So there. The good, the bad, and, um…….Well, for ugly just ask me to get up for an early morning run. You’ll see ugly AWFULLY darn quick.

Question: What are your pre-race rituals? The day before? Night before? Hour before?

Also, how much time do you let yourself recover after a long (or THE longest) run? I feel like I should rest until my ankles feel 100%, but I don’t know if that is necessary. Comments?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. CilleyGirl permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:48 pm

    Your time was seriously not slow! It was great!! And you can do a half and a marathon so long as you put in the training. Believe me, if I can do it anyone can. And I AM slow 🙂

    We’re doing seven miles on Sunday if you’re interested in joining us again — we’ll show you what slow really is (g)

  2. March 30, 2011 9:33 am

    I had NO ankles after my first half marathon. But the cankles didn’t appear until after I got back to Oregon and had been working for a day and a half. Then I felt this crazy pain in my feet, looked down and I was a sausage!

    My pre-race ritual is to take a quiet bath the night before where I just run through the race in my head. And I talk to Prefontaine and ask him to help me have fast legs – since we’re so tight like that?? I don’t know – it just helps!

Leave a Reply

