Skip to content

Spring is here!

March 10, 2011

How do I know? Here is my answer – in picture form.

I was wondering why I ran faster than usual on my way out last night. I wasn’t energetic, I didn’t want to be out there, and I sure had to dig deep to even keep myself running, let alone worry about pacing! I found out the hard way on the way back. I decided to do a short 4.5 miles, not realizing that the mist that had hung around all day was going to turn in to actual rain (no hat either….grrrr) and that the WIND was going to do everything possible to keep me from getting back.

I guess I’ll take what I can get, a little wind now and bright, sunny skies with warmer temps in a month or so. (Or 3)

I may have mentioned I was NOT feeling this run. I haven’t had one like this in a long time, where I am outside and it is tough to get any momentum. Even my iPod didn’t do the trick. I realized during my run that I had not water, and hadn’t had the foresight to drink much before I left. WHOOPS! I also mentally tallied up my calories in for the day, and it was somewhere around 700 calories. And that’s a high estimate. I guess my body needs more than that to run on! My daily recommended intake for maintenance is something like 2400. Trying to run for 4 miles on less than 1/3 of that = crappy run.

On that note, I got accused of “self-diagnosing” at my chiropractor’s office. He asked how I was feeling, and I told him. I also told him WHY I though I was feeling that way. I guess health professionals don’t care for that. Sorry! That’s pretty much what I do. If something doesn’t feel right, I try to fix it. I research, experiment and implement changes.  If I went to the doctor for every little malady, I wouldn’t be able to work. So when I have a crappy run, I look back at what was different between this run and last, look at what I can change, and try to change those things. Some things I need to accept:

– I have zero control over the weather.

– My body will not react the same on any two days.

– Rest days are good. Two rest days back to back are better.  (for me, right now)

– My body is still getting used to this whole “running for an extended length of time” or “yogging”. 🙂

Question: Have you ever been accused of self-diagnosing? Were you right? 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Yo Sis permalink
    March 10, 2011 3:04 pm

    You should come running here it is just gorgeous out! AND we could take the trail up to Horsetoooth! You? Self diagnose? Never! 😛 Haha I guess he didn’t like being out-smarted by someone who didn’t spend 100K and 4+ years on med school.

Leave a Reply

