Skip to content

Sun and New Friends!

March 7, 2011

Training run; 7ish miles/1 hour 35 minutes/12:30ish pace overall

Race for the Roses half: 28 days

Shamrock run 15k: 6 days

We here in the Pacific Northwest have to take what we can get. That means, you see the sun (that big, orange/yellow glowing orb in the sky) you go do something outside. NOW. 🙂

So since I have recently made a new friend on DM, I decided to text her to see if she was up for an afternoon run. Luckily enough, she was! Heather is an AWESOME running buddy, and she was great letting me go slow and walk if need be.

So there we were, chatting it up and cruising along. We went up a hill, and I was pretty happy with myself. “We’re doing 10:49 UP a hill! Awesome!” Heather is a great motivator, AND she has a Garmin. I can’t freaking wait to get one. Although it gives me a good excuse to run with her again! 😉  Anyways, running, chatting, feeling pretty darn good. Then I saw it. THE hill.

“FUUUUUUUDGE”

Heather just laughed. “Yup, that’s a beast.” As predicted, halfway up my quads were screaming bloody murder. We walked. And I am ok with it. “You’ll get there quicker than you think” came from Heather. (Told you, GREAT motivator!)

The rest of the run went by in a whirlwind of discussing snake stories, screwdrivers and other fun stories. I can’t wait to do it again!

Question: Do you find you run better when you run with a friend? Or does it just make the time go by faster? (I felt like i was holding Heather back a bit, sorry!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 9:26 am

    Snakes AND screwdrivers (not the drink kind). Both start with the letter S. I was very clearly raised on Sesame Street! lmao

  2. March 8, 2011 9:28 am

    You were NOT holding me back! My pace varies throughout the week. Depending on my mood, previous running days, etc. Yesterday was perfect for me. I got the miles in, and that’s all that matters. Actually, I got in more than my schedule called for. EVEN BETTER. That helped pick up the slack from my illness a few weeks ago. Can’t wait to get together again!

    • March 8, 2011 2:19 pm

      Phew, glad to hear it!And I’m so glad you are signed up for the 15k! Should be “fun”! :):)

  3. March 9, 2011 3:36 pm

    I’m curious which “Hill” you’re talking about…

    I did the Shamrock 8k last year! It was my second race. So much fun and I was SOOOO happy I was able to run the whole thing (no walking) in 50 minutes. That was pretty fast for me! Good luck!

    • March 10, 2011 10:29 pm

      Thanks Lisa! I’m super excited!! Nice job on your 8k. Hope to meet you in a race someday!

      Oh, and the hill is up in Vancouver, WA.

Leave a Reply

