Skip to content

Frame of mind

March 3, 2011
tags: , ,

So I have been sick. And I have been lying to myself about it.

Rookie mistake. I’m worried that if I take a few days off to recoup, I will not get back in to running. But the very reason I have been having crappy workouts is because I can’t breathe. So am I really even helping myself?

I guess this is the reason I have signed up for at least a race every month. I CAN’T not run…….(if that makes sense….)

Even if I am sick, I know I have a 15k coming up next weekend. And I can choose to either rest now, and do my best then, or push myself now, and crash next weekend.

I KNOW I will do my best, and that I can push myself. That being said, I have no illusions of being able to run the whole thing. I still have these 40 extra lbs hanging on, so I know that my time will be around 12 min/mile.

So I think I just need to adopt a new frame of mind. (Thank TallMom!) I am trying to be a runner. Runners all have one thing in common; THEY RUN. (KISS)

And I jog/run/walk. Therefore, it’s ok if I miss a few runs to get better. If I want to continue being a runner, I need to take care of myself, right?

BTW; If you’re still reading right now, thank you. Even if you’re my dad and felt obligated to. THANKS DAD!!

Question –
Do you feel guilty about taking time of to recoup or get better after a bug??

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 4:33 pm

    Yep! I’ve felt guilty taking sick days and just resting and I ended up getting sicker. In fact, 2 weeks before I was supposed to run my first 5k I got the H1N1 flu. I was in bed sick as a dog for over a week. I had zero energy and could barely breath but I was determined to run my first race. There were no refunds, after all…

    I did horribly on my first race. I had to walk a lot of it. It was a good learning experience and I realized that my body is smarter than my brain sometimes. Rest is good!

    Good luck on your race. I hope you are feeling better and back to your normal breathing before!

    • March 4, 2011 1:31 pm

      It makes me feel so bad, but I know I will get right back in to it. I’m sorry about the H1N1, that stinks. I know what you mean about the no refunds thing. I will run it if I have to be pushed across the finish line! 🙂

  2. March 5, 2011 2:37 pm

    Running Terwilliger on Sunday very slowly, email me if you’re interested! I think we’re targeting a 10:00 a.m. start…

Leave a Reply

