Skip to content

Musings

March 1, 2011

So I having been musing lately on just what being a runner means to me. Here is a short list. The things in bold I feel like I am or have. The things in red are the ones I don’t feel like I fit (yet):

1. They are skinny

I know, appearance isn’t everything, but lets face it, when an overweight person tells you they’re a runner, do you take that with a grain of salt?

2. They run everyday, usually in the morning.

This is my nemesis. If you’re not paying me, I’m not getting up early. End of story.

3. They have a base of at least 30 miles/week.

Somewhat arbitrary number, but I feel like most runners get near it.

4. They know cool running terms like “Fartlek” and “AI” and “Speed training”.

I’m still trying to wrap my head around the difference between a jog and a run. Really, what is it?

5. They can do a 10 minute mile with a broken leg.

Ok, maybe not a broken leg, but it is certainly easy.

6. They like looking at new running gear.

I am SO all over this one!

7. They hit a place in running called the “runner’s high”, and this can keep them motivated.

I think this is more about exceeding your own expectations and the wonderful feeling that accompanies it. I don’t think anyone will be successfully marketing a “runner’s high without the run” anytime soon.

8. They are cool. Self-assured, confident and happy.

Seriously, they look so darn proud of themselves! Getting there…..

9. They enjoy sports like cross country. In fact, most of them were probably amazing athletes in high school.

Athlete, yes. Cross country and amazing? No.

10. And last of all, they RUN. In wind rain, snow, sleet, whatever they condition, they can’t get talked out of running. Or missing a day of training.

I CAN and DO get talked out of it. Mostly because I know I am so slow it will take a lot of time. Also, I am a pansy and it’s freaking raining cats and dogs here.

I DID get some time in yesterday, but it was on the dreadmill. I did 3.5 miles, then called it quits and hopped on the stationary bike. I am taking today off because I can feel a cold coming on and I don’t want to push my ankles. They have both been giving me troubles on the treadmill, so best give them a day to rest.

What is YOUR idea of a runner? What do you think shaped it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    March 1, 2011 2:38 pm

    I went running in the snow a couple times this month. It was kind of fun and a different kind of work out. It was regular running with hurdles (literally…jumping over plowed piles of snow). I think you could easily tackle #10!

    • March 1, 2011 10:10 pm

      Thanks Kirstin! Go you for running in Lincoln in winter! You’ll be ready for the olympic hurdles after the size of those snow drifts!

  2. March 1, 2011 3:48 pm

    This post is AWESOME.. I like to think that I break a few runner sterotypes.. I think the big thing about being a Runner is that it becomes a habit or way of life, so running no matter what is just the norm.. HUGS!

    • March 1, 2011 10:13 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I agree that it just becomes part of you. I live for my outside runs. I just have to muster up the gumption for my treadmill days. Hugs back at ya! Good luck at Boston!!

Leave a Reply

