Skip to content

She’s baaaack!

February 21, 2011
tags: , ,

So I’ve started a new blog. Obviously.

I am now a ::cough:: “runner”. If I can be allowed to call jogging at a 12 min mile pace “running”. Hence the words of the header.

I would like to use this blog to network, gain support, give it, and hopefully explore the word “runner” in how it pertains to myself and others.

That being said, I would like to talk about that word. In my mind, it is very black and white. Either you are a runner and have a thin, svelte, athletic build, or you are a wannabe who isn’t, and doesn’t.

I am a wannabe. But I wanna be a runner. (Lame? Yes)

This attitude has lead me to do something MONUMENTALLY stupid.

Wait for it…..

Wait for it…..

I signed up for the 40th Portland Marathon! Holy crap. You mean I have to TRAIN now??

The next 7 months are going to be a huge build up to this race. Everything I run from now until then will keep that goal in mind. I can’t say I’m lookig forward to it, but hey, who ever looks forward to something that big and scary?

Back to real life. This weekend was an AMAZING affirmation that I am on the correct career path, and that I truly now love what I do. Following a great conference with my colleagues old and new, I got home on Saturday night to rest for the Heartbreaker 10k on Sunday morning.

I am going to take a stab at a race report – please bear with me as I muddle through this.

So I signed up for this race back in December, thinking it would be on the 13th, not the 20th. It was then changed to the later date so that we wouldn’t be interfering with another race being run on the same day. (Whoops!) So already I was annoyed with the race planners.

I woke up feeling pretty good, but sore from all the walking around , up and down hills at the conference in Bellvue, WA. I took some advil, and got on with getting ready. Even though I just got some new gear, I opted not to wear it because of something I read at Tall Mom. She said to not wear brand new gear to a race, simply because of the unknown factor. I think she was running a 5k with a new jacket, and ended up having to take it off and hand it to MuscleMan halfway through the race. Something like that.

So anyway, no new gear, same old long john top under my race tee. Knowing I was going to get warm, I opted out of a jacket. Speaking of temperature, IT WAS FREEZING! My lovely hubby drove me right to the start gate, and as I jumped out of the nice, warm car, but muscles all went stiff in protest. That being said, the morning was gorgeous. No rain, bright sun, and puffy clouds. I stretched, jumped, jogged in place, and generally tried to feel like I fit in there. Among all the thin, athletic builds, my 200lb carrying frame stuck out like a sore (or short) thumb. Ok, so really, everyone was a different size, shape and weight, but my under-trained mind was already looking for excuses so that when I got beat by the 65 year old man with a cane I wouldn’t feel so bad.

The race itself went pretty smoothly. My plan was to run 2k, walk 1k, repeat 3 times, then run the last k. The first 2 cycles went well. I wasn’t feeling great, and the eggs I had for breakfast were not too happy with me, but I just chugged along and told myself “I feel great! Look at me go!”. It worked!

I ran up Naito pkwy, right by the river. I had run this before, and remembered feeling bad seeing the homeless people sleeping under the bridge. The fixer in me always wants to help, but I was running, so no time to stop. Past the Broadway bridge, I got to my first walking break. I walked from there west to the 405 bridge, then ran from the through the NW neighborhood another 2k back to Front(Naito) pkwy. I had to stop for 30 seconds of this to catch my breath. Then I walked to the TA point and back, and tried to run. I say tried because I was out of steam.

I made myself run 2 minutes, walk a minute for this section, back to the Broadway bridge. This hurt. I don’t know why I ran out of steam, but I have a feeling it has something to do with the fact that I only trained for 3 weeks. Go figure. I walked from Braodway to the Steele Bridge, and then tried to run again. Agian, no go, so I ran 2, walk 1 again. Then I saw it. The Sign.

10K

6 miles

What? You mean I have less than a quarter mile to go? I CAN DO THIS!

I dug down, turned up the energy, and allowed Queen to take me through the finish. RUNNING.

AND I got my first medal! I felt bad taking it, because I thought they were only for the Half-Marathon, and that the kiddo giving it to me was confused. Then I checked with an adult, and got a happy, reassuring smile and a response – “They’re for everyone. Great run!”

If you are looking for a smaller, more intimate Half-Marathon in the PDX area, I would suggest this one. The course looked relatively flat, and the support was just as great as any of the other races I’ve gotten to run.

Congrats to all the runners, walkers and volunteers. A special BIG thank you goes out to the volunteers dancing at the turn-around point. They made me laugh out loud while I thought I was going to cough up a lung. And an even bigger THANK YOU to my hubby, who got up at what felt like 4am his time to support me.

Result; 10k in 1:15:52

12:13/mile

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 5:06 pm

    Great job!! I had wanted to do that race but decided not to since I ran the Fanconi Anemia race the weekend prior.

    My friend Jules and I are in the 12 min/mile pace on our good days — interested in joining us on a Sunday run and brunch some time? We’ve been trying to do it every weekend; Jules is running the PDX marathon this year also, and I’m doing the Vancouver USA marathon in June. You should come run with us!

    • February 22, 2011 5:46 pm

      That would be AWESOME!! I have been looking for running buddies, and I need to get some hills in for the race for the roses half in April. Email me @ Nikki@myschafer.net, wouldya?? THanks for the offer!

      • February 25, 2011 4:48 pm

        Emails have been sent your way… we’re planning to run Sunday morning if the snow doesn’t stop us.

  2. February 22, 2011 5:08 pm

    Oh, and she and I are both doing the Shamrock 15K too, so we’ve targeted the Terwilliger hills in order to prep for it. A third runner/blogger is coming up from southern Oregon that weekend as well; I’m planning a carb loading dinner out the night before; you’re welcome to join us for that as well!

  3. February 23, 2011 8:42 am

    We did the 5k. What a beautiful morning! About a quarter of a mile from the finish line, I was totally smoked by a 74 year old man. He ran past me like his hair was on fire. I now have a new reason to train harder. I never ever want to see that happen again!

    We also did the Twenty 11 Resolution run, which is another AA Sports race. They seem to be a bit smaller (for now)…which we’re totally loving. I’ll be signing up for more of their races in the future.

  4. March 1, 2011 3:50 pm

    So FUNNY to see my advice spelled out.. I wore a SWOOSHY jacket on a Half Marathon… UGH!! good work..

Leave a Reply

